Dr. Nestor Guijarro

June 2, 2021
hello world!

I grew up on an agricultural farm in Northern California. During my elementary years, I was working in the fields at that time. Growing up we had a few cats and dogs. My family, pets included, moved to Mexico for Junior High. My parents had a dual-purpose cattle farm, today it would be considered free-range cattle and the other purpose was for dairy production. I was hand milking a cow every morning from the age of 10 years until 15 years of age! During this time we had a range of animals growing up, even wildlife.

We moved back to Northern California, and back to working the fields, while I finished high school. I missed the animals and caring for all their medical needs. At this time I decided to move back to Mexico and start a cattle farm of my own.

A year later, I was accepted into the Veterinary School of the University of Guadalajara. I need to improve my Spanish vocabulary! During my summer vacations, I would come back to California with my parents to work in the fields to make enough money to get me through the year in Veterinary School.

In my senior year, I got married and moved back to California. I work several jobs, none of which were related to the veterinarian field. Later that same year, I was lucky to start working in the veterinarian field.

I found out that I could not use my degree from Mexico, so I was a Veterinarian technician for a few years. During this time I was fortunate to meet a few Veterinarians who explained that the AVMA had a path to accredit my degree. A few years later, I was done with my testing and my DVM degree was accredited in California! It has been a long, yet rewarding road to helping animals!

Today I have a loving wife, son, and daughter. Our family has two dogs, Maggie a 3-year-old Corgi mix, Nicholas a 15-year-old Maltese, and Garfield a 9-year-old domestic longhaired cat. We are also Beekeepers - we are the KGBeez apiary! We manage 200 beehives and mainly focus on pollination and honey production.